Skip to main content

Pascagoula-Gautier School District

Mobile Menu Toggle

Spotlight Message

Chief of Law Enforcement, Calvin Hutchins
PGSD Welcomes Calvin Hutchins as Chief of Law Enforcement
Calvin Hutchins is the Pascagoula-Gautier School District’s new Chief of Law Enforcement. Hutchins was approved at the Feb. 6, 2018, PGSD’s Board of Trustees meeting, and takes over for Chief Michael Whitmore, who has retired. Hutchins, who currently serves as Police Chief for the City of Moss Point, will begin with the district on Monday, Feb. 12, 2018.
In his current role as Police Chief, Hutchins supervises 44 employees. He has a total of 24 years of experience in the field of law enforcement, all of which has been in the cities of Moss Point and Pascagoula. He has served as a part-time campus policeman in Moss Point, and was elected as a Constable for Jackson County.
Hutchins is a member of the Mississippi Police Chiefs Association, has extensive experience in training police officers for local departments and extensive institutional knowledge of Jackson County, Moss Point, and Pascagoula, as the Chief of Law Enforcement. While serving with the Pascagoula Police Department he served as a shift lieutenant, sergeant and investigator in the criminal investigations division, commander of special operations, a warrant officer and traffic officer. He was named Officer of the Year in 2005.
A graduate of Moss Point High School, Hutchins and his wife reside in Pascagoula.